“He is no fool”

“He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose.” -Jim Elliot

I don’t usually remember the exact date of the death of Jim Elliot and 4 fellow missionaries in Ecuador, so I am glad when I see articles such as this one about the event.  http://www.desiringgod.org/articles/slain-in-the-shadow-of-the-almighty 

Many lives have been changed by the testimony of this incident.  While this is an excellent story, there is another piece of the story that not as many people know.  Frank & Marie Drown were missionaries in the same area as the 5 that were killed.  Frank was supposed to go with these men, but because his wife so so close to her due date he did not go.  God continues to use the lives of Frank & Marie Drown to further His work.  I know it has impacted my life.  I was blessed to meet them when I was a child.  The Drowns became friends with my grandparents many years ago.  My grandmother still corresponds with them.

May God use my life to encourage others.  It is not an easy thing to do.  Stories from the lives of the Elliots and Drowns are filled with painful trials.  However, God has sent blessings in abundance through the pain they suffered.  Blessings that are enjoyed by thousands.  Only God can give in that measure.  May I be His willing tool.

Leave a Reply

